Search: "#bookreview"


A Review of Alejandro Zambra’s Multiple Choice (translated by Megan McDowell) Sun Oct 23 2016
Multiple Choice is a small, weird book that is best read in one sitting, so the sections can build properly on each other (which of course I didn’t actually do, because it was summer and life interfered and I am never as assiduous as I mean to be). view at weirderary
#bookReview
My Rabid Fan Review of Lidia Yuknavitch’s Chronology of Water Thu Mar 17 2016
The line between admirer and stalker is in the eye of the beholder. To me, Lidia Yuknavitch brings out the 13 year old in me that went to Monkees concerts, had Monkees posters on my walls, and wore Monkees t-shirts everyday. view at weirderary
#bookReview
Legacy of the Last World by Susan Roney-O’Brien Sat Oct 15 2016
Roney-O’Brien’s Eve transcends religious tradition as the reader inhabits Eve’s mind and body, her nature revealed in the small details. view at momeggreview
#BookReview #poetry
On Mothering Multiples, Kathy Manta, Ed. Sun Aug 28 2016
As mother of two singletons, I read On Mothering Multiples not in appreciation of a common experience, but to better understand the lives of women who birth multiple children at concurrent ages. view at momeggreview
#BookReview #mothers
Know the Mother by Desiree Cooper Tue Jul 12 2016
There is no better time for flash fiction than the summer. In between corralling children to sporting events, the beach, and various summer destinations, flash or micro fiction gives a respite, like a lick of ice cream. It is easier to deal with repetitive, “Mama, look at me!” requests when one is still pondering the after-glow of a good story, and each piece’s short duration (1-9 pages each) allows Know the Mother to slide easily into a busy schedule. view at momeggreview
#BookReview #mothers #feminism
Book Review: The Daily Hazards of a Middle Eastern Wife by Soad Nasr Sat Nov 14 2015
Beyond being courageous, Soad Nasr’s voice is fresh and crisp. This results in a friendly tone that is easy to access for people of all backgrounds. view at huffingtonpost
#BookReview #HuffPost
Book Review of Sink or Swim: Tales from the Deep End of Everywhere by Brenda Kelley Kim Fri Dec 16 2016
That common experience of motherhood makes this book engaging, as each story reminds me of one of my own, making reading the book feel like a conversation between new friends. view at momeggreview
#BookReview #Humor #Parenting
In Conversation With Leslie Lawrence, Author of "The Death of Fred Astaire" Wed May 24 2017
Interview style book review of a marvelous essay collection about life, learning, and teaching. There are also children and dogs. read this article
#BookReview #QueerParenting #essays #writing #LeslieLawrence
Interview with Erin Judge, Author of “Vow of Celibacy” Mon Jul 24 2017
I primarily read memoir, so it took me a minute to realize that Natalie wasn’t a real person. I want to go hang out with her and drink wine, eat chocolate, talk all night. I still can’t believe she isn’t out there somewhere, designing clothes and just waiting to be my best friend. view at huffingtonpost
#BookReview #Bisexual #ErinJudge
Book Review: Tilting by Nicole Harkin Mon Jul 17 2017
It’s hard to be a kid. It’s hard to figure out where to stand or what to do when the world is constantly shifting under your feet.   read this article
#BookReview #Memoir #Tilting
Book Review: Have You Seen CindySleigh? & Other Stories by Diane Stiglich Tue Aug 29 2017
This book is a dream-like art-come-to-life world, where there are truths that are as immutable in this reality as in the one on the page, and stumbling across these truths is as if we find something solid to hold onto—grasping a rock after clawing at clouds. view at momeggreview
#BookReview #MagicalRealism #MomEggReview #CindySleigh
Interview and Giveaway with Courtney Maum, Author of Touch Sat Sep 30 2017
It seems as if everyone is chatting IRL and online about the tractor beam hold screens have over our lives, and whether intimacy is the price of technology, or is enhanced by it. If you are wondering if we are headed towards further isolation and a “post-touch” society, read on. view at thedebutanteball
#BookReview #CourtneyMaum #Touch #Giveaway
My Interview with Thrity Umrigar, Author of Everybody's Son Sat Nov 04 2017
I was first introduced to Dr. Thrity Umrigar’s work last spring when she and I both had the honor of having pieces we wrote performed in Lit Cleveland’s staged reading, Crossing Borders: Immigrant Narratives, a part of Cleveland State University’s Cleveland Humanities Festival. view at thedebutanteball
#BookReview #ThrityUmrigar #Everybody'sSon #Giveaway
Book Review: RED: A CRAYON'S STORY by Michael Hall Wed Nov 15 2017
I am completely nuts about RED by Michael Hall, a 40-page picture book about a blue crayon who is mistakenly given a red label at the factory. read this article
#BookReview #Red #MichaelHall #LGBTQA
My 8 Favorite Books of 2017 Tue Dec 26 2017
I decided to limit myself to eight books, because eight is my lucky number. Besides, many of us have a short attention span and ten books seems to be too many. view at thedebutanteball
#BookReview #BestOf2017Books
TBR Tuesday Review: To the Moon and Back: A Childhood Under the Influence by Lisa Kohn Tue Sep 18 2018
Today's suggestion for your To Be Read List is an astonishingly beautiful and haunting memoir by Lisa Kohn about grouping up in Reverend Moon’s Unification Church. read this article
#BookReview #ToTheMoonAndBack #Memoir #LisaKohn
Review and Giveaway for BY THE FORCES OF GRAVITY by Rebecca Fish Ewan Tue Oct 30 2018
Written in free verse accompanied by hand drawn illustrations, BY THE FORCES OF GRAVITY offers us a different concept of memoir itself.   read this article
#BookReview #Giveaway #RebeccaFishEwan #ByTheForcesOfGravity
TBR Tuesday: Waters Run Wild by Andrea Fekete + Inverview Tue Nov 27 2018
Historical literary fiction that will break your heart with its beauty. read this article
#BookReview #AuthorInterview #WatersRunWild #Fekete
Book Review: DRAGON PEARL by Yoon Ha Lee Mon Jan 14 2019
I'm sure this amazing and gender-diverse Middle Grade Fantasy will be the next Star Wars. read this article
#BookReview #DragonPearl #MG #Fantasy #SPaceOpera #GenderInclusive #OwnVoices
Review of RADIATION DIARIES by Janet Todd Tue Jan 15 2019
Radiation Diaries is a memoir written as a diary with daily dated entries detailing Todd’s seven weeks of radiotherapy for pelvic cancers. Read my full review on Mom Egg Review. view at momeggreview
#BookReview #MomEggReview #RadiationDiaries #Cancer #JanetTodd
TBT Monday Book Review: Hurricane Season by Nicole Melleby Mon May 06 2019
This is a book I needed as a child, and the fact that it exists for my own children gives me hope for the world. read this article
#BookReview #HurricaneSeason #MG #MentalIllness #Queer
Knock Wood: A Memoir in Essays by Jennifer Militello Mon Jul 22 2019
Knock Wood is a poet’s memoir, filled with rich, beautiful language and metaphor. view at com
#MOmEggReview #BookReview #KnockWood
Review of SQUEAKY WHEELS by Suzanne Kamata on Mom Egg Review Fri May 31 2019
Squeaky Wheels is an interesting multicultural conversation about independence and caretaking, as she takes her daughter and her daughter's wheelchair from Japan to Paris and other points around the world. view at momeggreview
#MomEggReview #BookReview #SqueakyWheels
To Be Read Tuesdays: A Dreadful Fairy Book by Jon Etter Tue Nov 06 2018
This is a rollicking romp with themes of friendship, forgiveness, and the value of books. It calls itself “A Fairytale for Readers of All Ages” and I’d feel comfortable giving it to my 10-year-old or my 13-year-old, and I quite enjoyed it at age 45. read this article
#TBRTuesdays #BookReview #JonEtter #DreadfulFairyBook #AmberjackPublishing
Book Review: QueerSpawn in Love by Kellen Anne Kaiser Sun Jul 02 2017
Even though we are both queerspawn, Kaiser’s family makes my parents look like amateurs. view at huffingtonpost
#Queerspawn #BookReview
Book Review of The Missing Girl by Jacqueline Doyle Fri Dec 15 2017
The Missing Girl is comprised of eight separate stories, each only a few pages long. Told from the point of view of perpetrators, victims, and friends of victims, each chapter is a stand-alone story about a girl who was preyed upon by someone known, or unknown. A haunting collection, its prose is clear and direct, with exquisite tension. view at momeggreview
#MomEggReview #BookReview #Doyle #TheMissingGirl
BOOK REVIEW + GIVEAWAY for My Mother Says Drums Are For Boys Tue Sep 04 2018
Welcome to TBR Tuesdays, where I suggest books to add to your To Be Read pile. This week's selection is: My Mother Says Drums Are For Boys: True Stories for Gender Rebels by Rae Theodore. read this article
#TBRTuesdays #BookReview #RaeTheodore #Giveaway #Rafflecopter #LGBTQIA #ButchPride
Book Review: UNWRITTEN by Tara Gilboy (Middle Grade Fantasy) Tue Oct 16 2018
Happy release day to Tara Gilboy! Read on to hear my thoughts on her Middle Grade fantasy, UNWRITTEN read this article
#TBRTuesdays #BookReview #Unwritten #NetGalley #MiddleGrade
Book Review of 16 Pills by Carley Moore Wed Nov 14 2018
Carley Moore’s essay collection, 16 Pills, is an exploration on what it means to be a single parent, a disabled child, a daughter, a teacher, a sister, a woman. view at momeggreview
#MomEggReview #BookReview #Moore #16Pills #Divorce #SingleParentingWriters
Three LGBTQIA-Themed Picture Books in Time for Holiday Shopping Tue Nov 13 2018
I pawn my work off on my 10-year-old and get him to review books for me. read this article
#TBRTuesdays #BookReview #RED #JulianIsaMermaid #JeromeByHeart #LGBTQIAbooks #QueerLit
TBR Tuesday Review + GIVEAWAY: SECRETS OF HOPELIGHT by Eva Blackstone Tue Oct 23 2018
Review of upper middle grade novel and giveaway. read this article
#TBRTuesdays #BookReview #SugPieStories #SecretofHopeLight
TBR Tuesdays: Interview with Lisa Romeo, Author of STARTING WITH GOODBYE Tue Sep 11 2018
It's TBR Tuesday, when I suggest a book to add to your To Be Read pile. This week's book is STARTING WITH GOODBYE by Lisa Romeo read this article
#TBRTuesdays #BookReview #LisaRomeo #HippoCamp
TBR Tuesday: GEORGE by Alex Gino Tue Dec 04 2018
A middle grade story of a trans girl trying to find her place. read this article
#TBRTuesdays #BookReview #George #AlexGino #QueerLit #LGBTQIA #Trans
TBR Tuesday: Exit Plans for Teenage Freaks by Nathan Burgoine Tue Dec 11 2018
Exit Plans for Teenage Freaks by Nathan Burgoine is a fun queer rom-com sci-fi novel set in present time Canada.  From Cole, our bullet journal loving protagonist, his ace BFF Alec, and Malik, the hottest guy in school, you will find someone to relate to or fall in love with in this brand-new YA novel. read this article
#TBRTuesdays #BookReview #ExitPlans #QueerLit #LGBTQIA #SciFi #YA
TBR Tuesday: Burn The Stage by Marc Shapiro Tue Dec 25 2018
I am the mother of a pop music loving 10-year-old. There’re two ways to go about raising a small person who loves all the latest teeny-bopper hits: buy large earmuffs or embrace it. read this article
#TBRTuesdays #BookReview #BTS
TBR Tuesday: Interview with Meghan Scott Molin and Giveaway for THE FRAME UP Tue Dec 18 2018
In sum, Meghan Scott Molin has given us a tight--dare I say zany--caper peopled with the kind of characters I'd love to hang out with IRL.  If you enjoyed Janet Evanovitch's Stephanie Plum series, you'll love THE FRAME UP. read this article
#TBRTuesdays #BookReview #interview #Giveaway #GeekGirl #Mystery
TBR Tuesday Review: There's Some Place Like Home: Lessons From a Decade Abroad by Dina Honour Mon Jan 21 2019
Read my 5-Star review of Dina Honour's hysterical and poignant essay collection, There's Some Place Like Home: Lessons From a Decade Abroad. read this article
#TBRTuesdays #BookReview #There'sSomePlaceLikeHome #DInaHonour #ExPat #Essays
TBR Tuesday Review: Dragon Pearl by Noon Ha Lee Tue Jan 29 2019
This YA/MG book is diverse and inclusive. Women and men are equally represented in positions of authority (guards, ship captains) and it has nonbinary characters! Strongly influenced by Korean folklore, this story is both old and new at once. read this article
#TBRTuesdays #BookReview #DragonPearl #YA-MG #GenderQueer #OwnVoices #Korean
TBR Tuesday Review: I AM YOURS by Reema Zaman Tue Feb 05 2019
Today's suggestion for your To Be Read pile is I am Yours by Reema Zaman, released today, February 5, 2019. This stunning debut memoir is unlike anything I've read before.  read this article
#TBRTuesdays #BookReview #IamYours #ReemaZaman #MovingForewords #Memoir
TBR Tuesday Review: Sapphire the Great and the Meaning of Life By Beverly Brenna Tue Feb 19 2019
This fun, illustrated middle grade novel features a hamster, a girl, and a family on the rocks. Sapphire the Great and the Meaning of Life was written in consultation with OutSaskatoon, an organization that supports LGBTQ2S+ people of all ages. read this article
#TBRTuesdays #BookReview #QueerSpawn #MG #SapphireTheGreat #LGBTQIA #Trans
TBR Tuesday Review: Burn the Binary by Rikki Wilchins Tue Feb 12 2019
When I saw BURN THE BINARY on Net Galley I had to request it. The conversation about trans, genderqueer and nonbinary people may feel new, but I wanted to know some historical context. After all, genderqueer people have always been with us, whether society chose to see them or not.  read this article
#TBRTuesdays #BookReview #BurnTheBinary #RikkiWilchins #Memoir
TBR Tuesday Review: The Uncomfortable Confessions of a Preacher's Kid by Ronna Russell Tue Mar 05 2019
read this article
#TBRTuesdays #BookReview #RonnaRussell #Uncomfortable Confessions #Queerspawn
To Be Read Tuesdays: Running Out by Dave Essinger Tue Feb 26 2019
This is a great book for any endurance runners, or former runners, or maybe one day in the future runners. I went into the book knowing very little about running and still enjoyed the vicarious experience immensely.  read this article
#TBRTuesdays #BookReview #RunningOut #Essinger
TBR Tuesday Review: Extraordinary Birds by Sandy Stark-McGinnis Tue Apr 23 2019
Extraordinary Birds is quite simply everything I've ever wanted in a middle grade novel. It's utterly captivating. read this article
#TBRTuesdays #BookReview #ExtraordinaryBirds #SandyStark-McGinnis
just like february by Deborah Batterman on Mom Egg Review Mon May 13 2019
Deborah Batterman’s novel, just like february, is filled with lyrical prose in this coming of age story. Read my review on Mom Egg Review. view at momeggreview
#MomEggReview #BookReview #JustLikeFebruary #Batterman
TBR Tuesday Review: The Sound of Silence By Myron Uhlberg Tue May 28 2019
A middle grade adaptation of Uhlberg's memoir on growing up the hearing child of deaf parents. read this article
#TBRTuesdays #BookReview #TheSoundofSilence #MyronUhlberg #MG #Memoir
TBR Tuesday Review: The Exalted by Kaitlyn Sage Patterson Tue May 21 2019
This YA fantasy is all about balances and contradictions, with well-fleshed out complicated characters. read this article
#TBRTuesdays #BookReview #TheExalted #KaitlynSagePatterson
TBR Tuesday Review: The Story Web by Megan Frazer Blakemore Tue Jun 11 2019
It's a haunting, enchanting story of friendship, love, mental illness, PTSD and gossip, of what makes a hero and the power of story--both negative and positive stories. read this article
#TBRTuesdays #BookReview #StoryWeb #MG #MentalIllness #PTSD
TBR Tuesday Review: Basilio Boullosa Stars in the Fountain of Highlandtown by Rafael Alvarez Tue Jun 04 2019
This week's suggestion for your TBR list is a rich, evocative work of literary fiction that I discovered at AWP. read this article
#TBRTuesdays #BookReview #Basilio #RafaelAlvarez
TBR Tuesday Picture Book Review: The Rabbit Listened by Cori Doerrfeld Tue Jun 18 2019
I’m more of a Middle Grade than Picture Book reader, but it has come to my attention recently that I am perhaps not always that great at listening, so after getting multiple recommendations for this book I took it as a sign. read this article
#TBRTuesdays #BookReview #PB #RabbitListened #Empathy #Friendship
TBR Tuesday Review: Too Young to Escape by Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch and Van Ho Tue Jun 25 2019
Van Ho woke up one morning to discover that her mother and siblings had left Vietnam in the middle of the night. This is her story of being left behind. read this article
#TBRTuesdays #BookReview #MG #TooYoungToEscape #VanHo #Skrypuch
TBR Tuesday Review: Punctuation Without Tears by Dominic Selwood Tue Jul 23 2019
Sometimes we have to buckle down and learn the things we have avoided learning--in my case, the proper use of the comma. This book actually is fun to read as well as informative. read this article
#TBRTuesdays #BookReview #CraftBooks #PunctuationWithoutTears
TBR Tuesday Review: Accidentally Gay by Lucky and Wolsey Bradley Tue Jul 02 2019
This is one of the most heart-warming shared memoirs I’ve read. If you are in need of a heavy dose of hope, skip this review and just buy this book now.  read this article
#TBRTuesdays #BookReview #Memoir #AccidentallyGay #Trans #Queer #LGBTQIA #Adult #SharedMemoir #Marriage #HappilyEverAfterQueer
TBR Tuesday: Gray is the New Black by Dorothy Rice Tue Aug 20 2019
Review on Mom Egg Review. Rice discusses being a daughter, sister, mother, grandmother and wife with an unflinchingly honest and unquestionably relatable pen. Although I’m more than a decade her junior, I saw myself on the page over and over—often painfully so. view at momeggreview
#TBRTuesdays #BookReview #GrayIsTheNewBlack #DorothyRice #MomEggReview
TBR Tuesday: The End of Something Wonderful: A Practical Guide to a Backyard Funeral by Stephanie V.W. Lucianovic Tue Sep 03 2019
Kids feel things deeply. We need all the resources we can to help them survive childhood. A new release and a few other resources for kids who have recently lost a pet. read this article
#TBRTuesdays #BookReview #EndofSomethingWonderful #Grief
Let's Talk About The Diminished Thu Apr 12 2018
It's the book release of THE DIMINISHED, one of my favorite YA Fantasy novels. view at thedebutanteball
#DebutanteBall #TheDiminished #BookReview
Review: Homesick, by Jennifer Croft Fri Oct 25 2019
A quick review of a gorgeous experimental memoir. read this article
#Homesick #JenniferCroft #BookReview #TBRTuesday
TBR Tuesday: Giveaway for THE DREAM PEDDLER and Interview with Martine Fournier Watson Tue Apr 09 2019
Today is the release day of THE DREAM PEDDLER which Rene Denfeld, bestselling author of The Child Finder described as, “Astonishing . . . Explores the vast underground legacy of our own desires. This is the must-read book of the year.” We’re giving away a copy to one lucky reader! read this article
#DebBall #MartineWatson #DreamPeddler #BookReview #Giveaway



Tweet Follow Only_Mama